AMEREM - EUROEM - ASIAEM Memos

Memo 16

2 October 2019

Awards Presented at ASIAEM 2019

Prepared by:

William Radasky and Nicolas Mora

In this memo we will identify the awards and citations presented on Wednesday evening, 18 September 2018. The award presentations were given during the banquet, which was held at the Wyndham Grand Hotel in Xi'an. There were 4 categories of awards presented. There were 3 best conference paper awards, 2 best student conference paper awards, 4 Young Scientist awards and 4 awardees of the Carl E. Baum Medal. Each of these award categories will be documented in detail in this Memo.

Best Conference Paper Awards

The awards process was chaired by Dr. Nicolas Mora with the support of a panel of judges. This award has been presented every 2 years (in odd years at the ASIAEM Conferences) based upon a review of nominated and self-nominated papers. Certificates from the conference organizers were presented to the winners:

Title: EM Failures Analysis of Analogue and Digital Sensors from a Safety and Security

perspective

Authors: Chaouki Kasmi, Fahad Al Yafei

Affiliation: Directed Energy Research Center, UAE

Title: The Self-breakdown Characteristics of the Output Switch for EMP Simulator Authors: Fan Guo, Yanzhao Xie, Wei Jia, Zhiqiang Chen, Shi He; Wei Wu, Xiaoping He,

Linshen Xie

Affiliation: Xi'an Jiaotong University; Northwest Institute of Nuclear Technology, China

Title: Medium-Voltage Transformers under EMP-Conditions Authors: Armin W. Kaelin, Markus Nyffeler; Carlos Romero

Affiliation: EMProtec AG; Armasuisse Science and Technology, Switzerland

Best Student Paper Award Winners

The awards process was chaired by Dr. Nicolas Mora with the support of a panel of judges. This award has been presented at every HPEM conference based upon a review of nominated and self-nominated papers. Certificates from the Conference Chairman were presented to the winners of papers written for this conference:

Title: Coupling Path Visualization for Automotive Intentional Electromagnetic Interference

Authors: Yang Zhong, Woncheol Song, Cheolhan Kim, Changyul Park and Chulsoon Hwang Affiliation: EMC Laboratory Missouri University of Science & Technology, Hyundai motor company; Korea Testing Laboratory, South Korea

Title: On the Maximum Voltage Induced by a Wideband HPEM Field in Cascaded Lines with Piecewise-Linear Layout

Authors: Tao Liang, Giordano Spadacini, Flavia Grassi, Sergio A. Pignari

Affiliation: Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Young Scientists Awards

The awards process was chaired by Dr. Nicolas Mora with the support of a panel of judges. Applicants were to be at or under the age of 35 years and needed to provide a CV with publications. This award has been presented every 2 years (in odd years at the ASIAEM Conferences) based upon a review of nominated individuals. Certificates from the conference organizers were presented to the winners in two categories: Outstanding Young Scientist and Young Scientist.

Outstanding Young Scientist Awards

Name: Jinchuan Ju

Affiliation: College of Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies, National University of

Defense Technology, China

Name: Guo Jun

Affiliation: School of Electrical Engineering Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'an, China

Young Scientist Awards

Name: Wang Shao-fei

Affiliation: School of Electrical Engineering, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China

Name: Shi Qiu

Affiliation: National Key Lab on Electromagnetic Environment Effects and Electro-

Optical Engineering Nanjing, China

The Carl E. Baum Medal

In 2016 Dr. Sholapurwala approached Dr. Dave Giri to initiate the concept of the Carl E. Baum Medal to be awarded to persons for their long standing accomplishments in the field of Applied Electromagnetics. Dr. Giri approached the Board of Directors of the Summa Foundation in Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA and the Summa Board agreed with the idea of this award. Further, Drs. Sholapurwala and Giri, donated \$1,000 each to Summa Foundation to facilitate this award. Twenty-five medals were produced and provided to the Summa Foundation. The front and back of the medal are shown below.



Front and Back Sides of the Carl E. Baum Medal

It was decided that the Summa Board of Directors would select the medal awardees each year and could choose any number between 0 and 4. In the inaugural year (2017) 4 initial awards were made to Drs. David Giri, Kelvin Lee, William Radasky, and Fred Tesche. The citations for their awards are documented in the AMEREM-EUROEM-ASIAEM Memo 12.

For AMEREM 2018 the Board of Directors of Summa Foundation chose 2 awardees for the Carl E. Baum Medal: Dr. Mats Bäckström and Bill Prather. The citations for their awards are documented in the AMEREM-EUROEM-ASIAEM Memo 14.

For ASIAEM 2019 the Board of Directors of Summa Foundation chose 4 additional awardees for the Carl E. Baum Medal. They are listed below with their citations.

Dr. Jean P. Parmantier: For pioneering application of electromagnetic topology with the CRIPTE code for the calculation of electromagnetic response of complex systems

Dr. Dominique J. Serafin: For playing a leading role in developing theoretical and experimental programs in France and for contributions to interaction analysis and system testing

Dr. Sergey Tkachenko: For theoretical investigations of high-frequency electromagnetic field coupling to transmission lines in different environments

Prof. Yan-zhao Xie: For contributions to EMP interaction, modeling and measurement

Drs. Parmantier and Serafin were not present, but a colleague was given the certificates to take back to France. Drs. Tkachenko and Prof. Xie were present and were presented their medals. Their acceptance photo is shown below.



At the end of the awards ceremony, Prof. Yanzhao Xie, the Conference Chairman of ASIAEM 2019 passed the traveling conference plaque to Dr. Lars-Ole Fichte, the Conference Chairman of EUROEM 2020 to be held in Hamburg, Germany. A photo showing the two Chairmen and the plaque is shown below.

